My Collapsing Fields Theory (Double Slit Experiment)

Discussions on the philosophical foundations, assumptions, and implications of science, including the natural sciences.

My Collapsing Fields Theory (Double Slit Experiment)

Postby Tavroch on June 18th, 2011, 11:38 am 

Gentlemen,

A short introduction:
I am from The Netherlands.
For a living I program 5-axis milling machines to produce landing gear parts for military and civilian aircraft.
I have no science background other than some basic education and my own research.

I have a theory I would like to share and discuss.
I would like to know where I go wrong, if applicable.
I call it my Collapsing Field Theory.
In a nutshell:

My explanation of the Double Slit Experiment, AKA The Collapsing Fields Theory:

Standard setup of the double slit experiment using visible light, for the moment without the double slits in place.
So there's a light source and a detection surface.
What happens when a photon is detected by the detection surface?

Standard explanation of what happens:
A photon (a), emitted by the light source, has/is (particle/wave) a certain amount of energy (A).
This photon (a), after being emitted by the light source, travels to the detection surface.
This photon (a) then transfers its energy to an atom in the detection surface.
An electron of this atom in the detection surface absorbs the energy (A) of the photon (a).
In doing so the electron jumps to its next higher "orbit", or energy level.
This in turn causes the emission of another, secondary, photon (b), and that is our clue that photon (a) has hit the detection surface.
In this explanation the single photon, when travelling to the detection surface with the double slits in place, can only pass through one of the two slits.
Therefore, when emitting one photon at a time, no interference should be possible.

Now what really happens:
There are no such things as photons; there's just a field containing a certain amount of energy.