LaTour mounts a defense of science

Discussions on the philosophical foundations, assumptions, and implications of science, including the natural sciences.

LaTour mounts a defense of science

Postby TheVat on October 25th, 2018, 11:39 am 

https://www.nytimes.com/2018/10/25/maga ... ience.html

(if you have paywall issues, you can access the article by switching your browser to incognito mode)

( not an article for skimming, or picking off the first few paragraphs. Please comment only if you have read the entire article.)

Here's a link, if anyone wants the book....

https://www.amazon.com/Down-Earth-Polit ... n+to+earth
TheVat
Forum Administrator

dandeliondavidm liked this post

Re: LaTour mounts a defense of science

Postby davidm on October 25th, 2018, 12:18 pm 

Thanks for the link, BiV. Will read and comment later. It looks quite interesting.
davidm

Postby davidm on October 25th, 2018, 4:05 pm 

I was intrigued by a number of things in the article. I am no expert on postmodernist philosophy, but it always struck me that the main postmodernist arguments have been misinterpreted, perhaps deliberately so in many cases. A strawman of postmodernism is that it says there are no facts, no truths, indeed that there is no reality — the very claim that article describes, in its outset, as Latour confronting.

I think a better characterization of postmodernist thought is that there is no point-of-view-independent truth, no overarching metanarrative, because such ideas are always point-of-view dependent — and thus self-refuting. There is, as Rorty wrote, no “view from nowhere.” Which research projects, in science say, that we choose to pursue, have political, cultural, social and funding motivations, among other factors, and are sustained by a network of self-reinforcing assumptions, beliefs, and desires.

It seems to me Sabine Hossenfelder (whether one agrees with her or not) argues something like this when, in critiquing the current state of science, she writes: