I'm Not a Scientist - Did I get This Right??

Discussions on behavioral ecology, evolutionary psychology, neurology, endocrinology, game theory, etc.

I'm Not a Scientist - Did I get This Right??

Postby teacherman on March 13th, 2017, 12:13 pm 

This article, entitled Patterns of Inverted Reading and Subgroups in Dyslexia, appeared in The Annals of Dyslexia (a peer reviewed scientific journal) in the mid 80's. Below you will find a summation of the study which I did a few years ago - but I'm not a scientist. Could someone read the article and tell me if my conclusions are correct.
https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/BF02663620

Here's what I came up with:
The study, which was conducted in Denmark by Larsen and Parlenvi and published in the Orton Dyslexia Society’s Annals of Dyslexia in 1984, was originally intended to determine the significance of the direction in which reading is carried out. In other words, would readers do just as well (or just as poorly) if they had to read text from right-to-left rather than from left to right?

And guess how the researchers reversed the print direction to test its effect...
You guessed it! They simply turned the text upside down!

The study is entitled “Patterns of Inverted Reading and Subgroups in Dyslexia” and it is available on the web from Springerlink.com for a cost of $34.00. But I think I can pretty much describe how the experiment was done and sum up their highly enlightening findings at no cost to you.

The subjects of the experiment were 66 second grade students drawn from public schools in the Gothenburg area of Denmark. The experimental group consisted of 46 struggling readers, 19 girls and 27 boys. Although the write-up says these students were at least one standard deviation below the Swedish standard, there is no way to know the full range of dysfunction. I think it’s safe to assume that there were a number of non-readers in the group, as well as many who had minimal reading skills.