Creating Amber

Discussions on general chemistry and chemical engineering, organic chemistry, analytical chemistry, etc.

Creating Amber

Postby zetreque on June 25th, 2017, 8:56 pm 

For a long time now I have been curious about how amber is created. If someone were to attempt to create some, does anyone have any insight into this?

I'm just starting out on researching this finally but I'm reading that amber goes through molecular polymerization from heat and pressure over time. Converting monomers to polymers and driving off terpenes. Is there any way to speed up this process?
zetreque
Forum Moderator

Blog: View Blog (3)

Re: Creating Amber

Postby zetreque on June 25th, 2017, 9:35 pm 

Trying to learn about polymerization. If one were attempt to make amber would they try to find a hardener substance? Perhaps one that mixes into the resin or a vapor exposed to it.

Then experiment with temperature and pressure.

What kinds of naturally occurring substances that would be naturally found when amber is formed that one could try to increase the amount of as a hardener?
zetreque
Forum Moderator

Postby BioWizard on June 25th, 2017, 10:27 pm 

Could using a cross-linker help?
BioWizard
Forum Administrator

Postby zetreque on June 25th, 2017, 10:49 pm