climate change

This is not an everything goes forum, but rather a place to ask questions and request help for developing your ideas.

climate change

Postby Paul Anthony on December 3rd, 2015, 3:47 pm 

I am not a scientist.

As a layman, I struggle to understand the basis for the belief in climate change as a man-made catastrophe in the making. I've perused the discussions here, but the following are questions that still trouble me.

I am told the planet is warming. Satellite data does not confirm this, but ground-based temperature sampling does. I wonder why both sources don’t agree. If the temperature at the surface is rising as a result of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere, shouldn’t the temperature in the atmosphere rise?

I live in Gilbert, Arizona, a “bedroom community” with a population in excess of 220,000 people. It is larger than most “large” cities, but pales in comparison to its neighbor, Phoenix, which is a mere 20 miles away. Both are at the same elevation, but on any given day there is a 3 to 4 degree difference in temperature, both day and night. This difference is explained by land use. Gilbert has little industry and more lawns, less pavement. The higher temperatures in Phoenix are the result of something referred to as a “heat island effect”. Even though I am not a scientist, I can understand this.

Average temperatures in Gilbert are much higher than they were 30 years ago. Is this evidence of “climate change”? Not likely, since the average temperatures in Phoenix have risen considerably less. A better explanation might be that 30 years ago Gilbert was primarily an agricultural community with a much smaller population. The rapid growth occurred during the housing boom. This growth was not limited to Gilbert, nor was it exclusive to the US. During this same time period, China converted millions of agricultural acres into cities. This growth has been historically unprecedented - and not likely to continue at the same pace.