395 lb stonyiron meteorite!

Discussions ranging from space technology, near-earth and solar system missions, to efforts to understand the large-scale structure of the cosmos.

395 lb stonyiron meteorite!

Postby Starmetal on December 31st, 2013, 6:57 pm 

Hello folks,
I have been researching meteorites for more than a few years now and I believe I have found one. I say stonyiron due to process of elimination. It is magnetic, leaves no streak, and is quite heavy for it's size. I have contacted dozens of institutions to no avail. But what's puzzling is the lack of consistency of their answers. I am sure this is a meteorite. I am not sure what kind of meteorite it may be. The only piece I've ever seen like it in all the institutions and on the Internet was a mesosiderite. But it was just a picture. I am also seeking insight on how the whole verification/classification/submission/naming process works. I've found most people to be tight-lipped about this. I have two videos if anyone would care to see (and hear!) it. Go on YouTube and search Keith Caverly. 395 lb meteorite will also get you there. Any information would be most appreciated.
Starmetal

Re: 395 lb stonyiron meteorite!

Postby Watson on December 31st, 2013, 7:46 pm 

Interesting find. How did you come by this?
Link is to your u tube post http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5KGUH1vHIvk It does have a very metallic sound to it. Any more to the story.
Watson
Resident Member

Location: Earth, middle of the top half, but only briefly each 24 hours.

Postby Starmetal on January 1st, 2014, 11:20 am